Return to Headlines

Higley Unified School District Teacher of the Year Awards

Higley Unified School District, AZ- Higley Unified School District is honoring its teachers with a distinguished recognition. Each year, one teacher from each school is selected following a nomination process, to be awarded the title of Teacher of the Year for their school. Of those award-winners, a panel interviews and selects one overall district Teacher of the Year for elementary and secondary education.

These awards recognize those teachers who go above and beyond to bring their passion and expertise to the classroom and prepare learners for limitless opportunities. This year's HUSD Teacher of the Year for Elementary is San Tan Elementary first grade DLI English Teacher Adrienne Raleigh. HUSD's Teacher of the Year for Secondary is Higley High School Video Production Teacher David Nuttall.

Here are all of the Teacher of the Year Award Winners for 2023-24. 

Bridges Elementary
Devon Ellsworth
Devon Ellsworth Teacher of the Year Bridges Elementary
Centennial Elementary
Dusty Schmidt
Dusty Schmidt Centennial Elementary Teacher of the Year

Chaparral Elementary
Serina Turner
Serina Turner Chaparral Elementary Teacher of the Year

Coronado Elementary
Anne Tripathi
Anne Tripathi Coronado Elementary Teacher of the Year

Cortina Elementary
Cindi McKeon
Cindi McKeon Cortina Teacher of the Year

Gateway Elementary
Taylor Miller
Taylor Miller Gateway Elementary Teacher of the YEar

Higley Traditional Academy
Jana Galloway
Jana Galloway HTA Teacher of the Year

Power Ranch Elementary
Michelle Bernard
Michelle Bernard Power Ranch Elementary Teacher of the YEar

San Tan Elementary
Adrienne Raleigh
Adrienne Raleigh San Tan Elementary Teacher of the YEAr

Early Childhood Development Center
Laryn Garrett
Laryn Garrett ECDC Teacher of the Year

Sossaman Middle School
Haleigh Rohner
Haleigh Rohner Sossaman Middle School Teacher of the Year

Cooley Middle School
Pam Edgar
Pam Edgar Cooley Middle School Teacher of the Year

Higley High School
David Nuttall
David Nuttall Higley High Teacher of the Year

Williams Field High School
Buffy Sanchez
buffy sanchez williams field high school teacher of the year

Higley Unified School District is grateful to our Teacher of the Year event sponsors. Our Award Sponsors Hillyard Phoenix and Risk Program Administrators, our Gold Sponsors OOROO Auto, and Silver Sponsors Educational Services Inc. and Arizona Furnishings