Return to Headlines

Higley Governing Board recognized for excellence

The Arizona School Boards Association named the Higley Unified School District Governing Board one of three finalists for the 2018 Lou Ella Kleinz Excellence in Governance Award. It is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a full board in Arizona and recognizes the group of volunteer adults who provide the most outstanding leadership for that year.

The current Higley board – President Kristina Reese, Vice President Amy Kaylor, Member Scott Glover, Member Rick Thornock and Member Greg Wojotovich – will be recognized Friday, Dec. 14, 2018, at the annual Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) conference in Phoenix.

ASBA’s criteria for the award, from the website, states: “The winning board will have shown board initiative, action and leadership in the following areas:

• Focuses on students,
• Demonstrates progress in achieving goals,
• Fosters increased parental involvement,
• Develops collaboration with social agencies and/or community groups, including other governing bodies,
• Creates a school community which fosters quality performance and innovation.”

The winning board is selected by a panel of past presidents of ASBA.